Protective Styling

I’ve decided to start protective styling since its getting cold. I’m more into styles that I can do myself, and still take down as often as I want. Two styles I’d like to give a try are going to be two strand twists and wigs. I installed two strand twists on my hair on Friday, after washing it Thursday.

Image

 

 

At first I didn’t like them because they’re so thin, but now I don’t mind. For one, seeing that thin relaxed hair is just giving me more encouragement to continue my transition. I can’t wait for my twists to be nice and thick when I’m natural. Plus, the only way for them to look thicker would have been to add hair, and I don’t really like extensions. I like to be able to get to and feel my real hair. I won’t mind taking these down in two weeks, but it would probably feel like a waste with extensions. So, I’m just going to flexi rod the ends, and put the twists in some nice updos. It’ll help me keep my hands out of my hair, and I won’t have to comb and brush it as much. 

Again, since I don’t like extensions, I’ve decided against weave. But, i really want to try a wig. I can take it off at night to let my hair breathe, and still wash my hair weekly if I want. I’m thinking of a straight bob style wig. I’m not trying to go all out and experiment with colors or long hair. I figure a simple one that just looks like a trimmed my real hair would look nice, and not draw too much attention. I really like this one from aliexpress: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/hot-best-quality-cheap-price-12-1b-remy-indian-virgin-precut-bob-lace-front-glueless-wig/891999362.html . So i may order it soon (after a trip to the bss to check the quality of their wigs).

Can’t wait to go on youtube and check out some more protective styles. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a comment